Sharon Gaetz appointed to fourth term as Chair

December 19, 2014

At its inaugural meeting on Wednesday, December 17, the Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) unanimously approved the appointment of Sharon Gaetz as chair of the board. Gaetz represents the City of Chilliwack on the FVRD and has served 3 consecutive terms as chair.

"I am energized by the accomplishments the FVRD has achieved over the past few years, and will continue to push forward our regional interests to the Province," says Gaetz. "We are thrilled with the progress made in protecting our airshed, and look forward to working with Metro Vancouver to find positive, green alternatives to their plans to build a garbage incinerator."

Other appointments include Patricia Ross as vice chair of the board; and Henry Braun and Jason Lum as chair and acting chair of the Fraser Valley Regional Hospital District board.

The FVRD provides over 100 local, regional and subregional services to over 280,000 residents in six member municipalities and eight electoral areas. Governed by a 23 member board of directors, the FVRD serves the public to build prosperous, sustainable communities throughout the Fraser Valley.