Air Quality Monitoring

Air quality monitoring is conducted at a network of stations equipped with instrumentation to measure air pollutants. The monitored pollutants can include particulate matter (PM2.5, PM10), ozone (O3), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOX), carbon monoxide (CO), ammonia (NH3) and volatile organic compounds (VOC).

There are six monitoring stations within the FVRD, located in Abbotsford (2), Agassiz, Chilliwack, Hope and Mission.

An Airmap was created through a partnership between the FVRD, Metro Vancouver, Environment Canada and others. 

The following map by the BC Ministry of Environment displays real-time air quality and weather data from Vancouver to Hope.